Mehboob-e-Ilahi (Beloved of God)

July 19, 2013

…”I will create a vicegerent on earth.”…

Surah Baqarah – 30

Vicegerent? Yes, a representative, of none other than the Almighty Allah! A Responsibility? Yes, but what about a blessing? An even bigger yes!

“We verily created man and We know what his soul whispereth to him, and We are nearer to him than his jugular vein.”

Surah Qaf – 16

From the tiniest organisms at the depths of the ocean to the nothingness of outer-space and beyond, Allah exists in everything! In you, in me!

All my life I’ve wondered what it meant to love someone for the sake of Allah! How it worked, I wasn’t able to comprehend. But Allah has his ways of giving us hints and making clear that which is not clear, to us. Letting the thought simmer in my head for a few days, I started to realize that if Allah exists in each an everyone of us, and whatever good qualities that come from us are from Him, we actually fall in love with Him through falling in love with another human being. Didn’t you ever wonder why marriage has been made so sacred in Islam. This is the very reason. Marriage is a journey to find the love for Allah.

Love! The master of emotions! It overcomes every sadness, anger, and fear! In love, you lose yourself to the one you are in love with, completely! You are no longer the person you were before you fell in love. Not even you know yourself anymore. In the words of a wise man “dying before death”, this is a state of entering a new life. The life which you now share with that person, a life of eternity!

Rung – Fareed Ayaz (Coke Studio) – Click to Listen

Once you have found love for Allah, everywhere you look you will see Him! In every breath you breathe, in every step you take, His name will echo! The essence of Allah will engulf you! And this new life, it will be one full of happiness, peace, and tranquility. So calm will be the state of your heart that even a calamity will seem like a blessing, because you know Allah is in control of everything and since He loves you and you love Him there is nothing bad that’s going to happen. It all happens to increase the love between you and Him.

“And surely We shall try you with something of fear and hunger, and loss of wealth and lives and crops; but give glad tidings to the steadfast, Who say, when a misfortune striketh them: Lo! we are Allah’s and lo! unto Him we are returning. Such are they on whom are blessings from their Lord, and mercy. Such are the rightly guided. ”

Surah Al-Baqarah – 155  to 157

It is in this state of love, that you truly start to worship Allah!

“Say: Lo! my worship and my sacrifice and my living and my dying are for Allah, Lord of the Worlds.”

Surah Al-Anaam – 162

No more focusing on Hell or Heaven, only Him. Just looking forward to the day you will meet Him! Seems like a surreal state doesn’t it. Especially in this day and age where there is so much materialism, there is no give without take, it seems like the talk of a different universe, but it’s not. It just takes a little effort to realize that this world is surreal, this world is full of uncertainties, and is bound to come to an end.

Oh Allah! I do not know how to love! Teach me to love! Oh Allah! I do not know how to ask forgiveness! Teach me to ask forgiveness! Oh Allah! I do not know how to be grateful! Teach me to be grateful! Fill each and every drop of blood in my body with Your love! Give me the opportunity to attain the state of love that is eternal!  And make the first thought of my day You and the last thought of my day You!

Leave a Reply

