REMINISCE

September 15, 2011

I keep recalling one thing! Walking through a hallway. It’s strange because today the feeling is different. Nostalgia! Deep down in my heart there is a pricking sensation! I don’t know how to make it go away! But a part of me doesn’t want this feeling to leave.

I’m hanging on to the past! And I remember clearly, a moment of that past, which is a reminder for me not to hang on to it, Mr. Farooq Dar, my beloved Pakistan Studies professor, telling me that I’ve got to move on and not let the past hold me back. Although I’m not being ungrateful for my present, but remembering how sweet the past was compared to the present seem like an ungrateful thing to do!

It’s a new beginning! It’s difficult! It’s lonely! But its reality! Bitter reality! And reminiscing makes it ever so unbearable! Is it something I’ve lost? Are these memories ever going to be enough! Writing these words, is making my heart sink! I never thought I’d miss it so much! It was a second home for me, and each individual in that home meant so much to me and they still do!  In the beginning we use to make fun of its name, at times embarrassed to mention it in front of others. But now, its name is part of my identity! And I’m proud of  each letter that forms it!

I am a fortunate graduate of FAST (Foundation of Advancement in Science and Technology)! With Allah’s blessings I graduated this May! The past four years flew by! And now there is no going back, no reliving those moments again! As I walked through the halls of my university today! I could see flashes of the past in every corner! But because I had gone there for some work I didn’t have time to indulge in recollections. That’s all I’ve been doing the rest of the day! Which has led me to letting things out in front of you!

Those of you who still have the privileged of roaming the halls of FAST, it is not a request, it’s an order, ENJOY AND SAVOR EACH MOMENT YOU HAVE LEFT, THERE, so that you never have to face regret! The smiles I received from you today! They are a reminder for me that even though I can not relive the moments that have passed, but I can surely have new one with you!

I LOVE YOU GUYS! MAY ALLAH HELP ME KEEP YOU IN MY LIFE, AND IF NOT THEN SURELY IN MY PRAYERS! I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT THIS IS NOT THE END, WE WILL BE TOGETHER EVENTUALLY IN A PLACE WHERE THERE WILL BE NOTHING BUT LOVE AND HAPPINESS!

4 Responses to “REMINISCE”

  1. Ishba Shehzad Says:

    Good memories are really a blessing. They are there to bring a smile on your face, and to be grateful to have had them as a part of your life, to have enjoyed those moments when you had the opportunity to =).

  2. Asim Says:

    Seriously dude we had some awesome days 😥 and now every 1 is busy in their own routine we cant blame them coz this is how the life will go on but i dont knw why just a few days ago i m having this strong nostalgic feeling….. as long as i m busy doing something my mind diverts but after dat i just sit somewhere and strt thinking about all the good times we had and cant get over it 😦

  3. Tammy Says:

    Ghazi, continue to write down the past. It will help and preserve it. Write each memory and in the future, you will have wonderful stories to share.

  4. Saad Rashid Says:

    Ghazi a very good blog!These memories also hit me when i am sitting alone! it was a very good time all of us had in FAST!i hope we do meet again!miss all da fellows!

Leave a Reply

