Finding Answers

July 26, 2011

It’s amazing how sometimes things pop into your head and you don’t know where they came from. But at the same time they seem to be the answers you’ve been looking for. It’s definitely Allah talking to us! Giving us the guidance we want or need. If you look at it that way, it feels so good to know that there is always going to be someone to help us through life, and that’s no one but Allah. I’m going to keep repeating this in my posts, that it is our relationship with Him that is our only hope to survive this cruel and difficult world. A strong bond with Him means a life of peace and happiness, that doesn’t mean we’ll stop facing difficulties, that’s part of life, and all it does is, makes us closer to Allah, if we chose to let it happen, that is.

I’ve been in a dilemma for the past few days. And there were some pretty extreme emotions tugging at my heart. I was shocked to see myself that way, but I just couldn’t control myself. I wasn’t sure if those emotions were acceptable or not…Wait! I just got the answer! A few weeks back talking to a teacher of mine, I was told that, at a young age, you tend to make emotional decisions. Whereas, the correct way to go about things is taking the logical path. So it is very essential to take ample time to make choices at this age, enough to take control over your emotions, and then make the logical move. So that means, any decision I was trying to make in that state was probably going to be wrong.

Today, when I was getting ready for office, I got the answer I was looking for. The answer to the dilemma! I had been fretting about the fact that some people judge me because of my appearance, my beard, to be specific. They Pass rude remarks, and make fun of me. Our beloved Prophet Muhammad (May Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him) kept a beard, and hence it is a Sunnah (his actions). He, being the role model to all of humanity, should be followed in order to achieve the happiness of Allah and to live a proper life. All prophets were sent for this very reason. The Holy Scriptures, being the user manual to life, and the prophets being the trainers. It’s a great loss if we still don’t live life accordingly. When people treated me unkindly, I felt, not only were they  being insensitive to me but also disrespectful to the Prophet (May Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him), and that would really annoy me to the point of holding a grudge against that person.

I realized a big mistake I’ve been making all this while. I’m trying to keep one Sunnah alive, but at the same time missing out on another. That way, I feel, I’m canceling out the effect of the other. The Sunnah I’m forgetting is, being forgiving. Prophet Muhammad  (May Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him), was the most forgiving person ever. Not only did he forgive people who treated him badly, but also his archenemies, people who had brutally killed his relatives and companions in battles. Now if there is one thing, I should follow, it’s the quality of forgiveness he had! What an honorable man he was! Not only did he forgive them, but also prayed for them!

From today, I’m going to let go of all my grudges, at least try to, and work on being forgiving. The best way to keep up with that is to pray for those, who I feel, treat me badly. Pray to Allah, to guide them and give them the sensitivity to keep from hurting others feelings, and to understand that following the Prophet is the only way to succeed in life.

I will work hard to become a better Muslim, a true follower of the only man worthy of being followed, the Prophet Muhammad  (May Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him)! May Allah accept my intentions, and help me in this endeavor! Ameen!

Yes, and one last thing. Sometimes I feel that the way you treat people (Allah’s creation) Allah might treat you the same way. If I don’t forgive others, Allah might not forgive me! I so don’t want that to happen! So, before it’s too late, I’d better learn to forgive others!

Leave a Reply

