Summer! Oh No!…Oh Yes!!!

March 29, 2011

Tick tick tick tick….Tick tick tick tick! And time passes by. The ticking never stops! It never waits for anyone! It just keeps going and going and going! You tend to miss the past, but while you are sitting around yearning about how wonderful that time was, the present is slipping away! So don’t do that! Get on with life, look at what you have at hand and enjoy it!

I was doing this a few days ago. I was thinking about how great winter was, and that it has gone, leaving us in the scorching sun! But then it occurred to me, now that summer is here, and there’s nothing I can do about it! I might as well look forward to the gifts of summer! The electricity load shedding, the perspiration, the smacks of hot air across the face…just kidding! There truly are some amazing things about summer which I will unveil in just a bit! But before I do, lets talk on a serious note for a minute. There is no challenging the pattern that Allah has set! We are too naive to do so! Our knowledge is limited to whats in front of us! He knows what we need, when we need it, and how we should get it! We should be glad that we haven’t been bestowed with the duty to take care of all of it, because it’s humanly impossible! Okay, getting to the point here, we should not fret about things that come our way, that we dislike. There is always something good behind it all! Allah’s plans are so perfectly set out for us that we need not to worry! So if summer is here, and I dislike it, that doesn’t mean it is not of benefit to me. We need the weather to change! I’m sure having winter all year round would become more of a hassle than anything else. This is just a tiny observation. However, summer has so much more to do for us which we can’t even think of. So we should take it with a pinch of salt and move on!

Enough of the serious talk, and since I’ve been away from my blog for quite a while, I’m starting to pour my thoughts out haphazardly! I apologize for that 🙂 Starting with summer’s fun stuff number one! LASSI, for those of you who don’t know what it is, let me give you a brief introduction. It’s the best summer drink ever! 😛 Yogurt, water, salt and ice! Put all of the ingredients in a blender, and blend for a minute or so and, WALLAH! Don’t sip it! Guzzle it down! Not one glass! Two or three! And the magic will unleash! A minute ago, you felt as if the heat of this dreadful season is going to kill you! Now the coolness of the drink will sink to your bones! You will feel so relaxed and relieved that all you’ll want to do is find your way to the bed and collapse! You’ll sleep like a baby, not knowing what hit you 😛 I think I’m making this sound like a drug 😛 It’s not! Just try it and you’ll know exactly what I mean 🙂

Summer fun stuff number two! SWIMMING!!! My favorite activity for the summer, because that’s the only time its possible, unless I had membership in one of those fancy clubs where they have heated pools! I would swim all year round, if that were the case! Yes, I’m that crazy about it! Well it’s not the swimming that interests me! It’s the diving! I could go on and on about how amazing it is, but I’ll try to control myself! Run to the edge of the pool, jump as hard as you can, get into diving position, and watch time stop as you travel towards the water! It’s a feeling of intense freedom, if there’s any such thing 😛 It’s like defying gravity! The fear of getting hurt while making such a jump otherwise, does not exist! It’s water, waiting to absorb that potential energy! Come on all you physics people! Back me up here! 😛 It’s just out of this world!

I’ve left the best for last! Summer fun stuff number three! Going to the Northern Areas of Pakistan to discover the beauty of my country! All my life I had wanted to go see those amazing places whose photos I saw in calendars and restaurants! Two years ago, Allah blessed me with the opportunity to do so! May Allah bless the organizers and my university for arranging such an amazing and affordable trip! A trip that I will never forget! Got a chance to see, Gilgit, Skardu, Deosai and Rama (refer to my earlier posts titled Sneak Peek of Paradise to find out more)! And then again the next year, my brother, eleven batch mates of his and I, went to another part of the Northern Areas, Naraan and Kaghaan. We camped out near the very lake whose photos I had seen as a child! Although extremely cold, it too was a time which has made its way to the permanent storage of my brain 🙂 After having been to these places, I feel like making a trip there every year. There is so much to see, that even if I go every year (May Allah grant me with such opportunities) there will still be something new to discover the next year. And yeah maybe if I become an expert at fixing my own car, I’ll take my beetle with me 🙂

These are some of the awesome things about summer I am looking forward to! There are many other things that make summer a cool season, like ice cream, standing out in the rain (without the fear of falling ill), and yeah not to forget all the amazing fruit that comes into the market! MANGOES!!!

So all of you out there who are dreading the summer season, DON’T! I’m sure there are a few things about summer you like too! So stop thinking about the stuff that bug you and look forward to the fun stuff! This is one way of being grateful to Allah!

Live life with a smile on your face!

One Response to “Summer! Oh No!…Oh Yes!!!”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    I have never heard of Lassi but there is a family nearby that just moved here from Pakistan. I will ask them about it.

Leave a Reply

