Nightblooming Cereus

September 19, 2010

Today I’ve got a surprise for you! I am not putting any pictures, as that would ruin it! Don’t click on the link before you read the suspense I’ve tried to create! 😛

At my grandparents place, there is a beautiful garden, and it blooms with flowers all year round. Be it day or night. Yes you heard me right, NIGHT! There is a cactus, my grandmother (May Allah grant her Paradise, may her soul rest in peace) has in this garden! This cactus gives flowers rarely, and they bloom only during the night, just for that one night! But by the grace of Allah, this year it gave me and my family a glimpse of paradise! Starting with one or two flowers, it was a pleasant surprise with fragrance that can put you in a daze! Little did we know that a week later it would give birth to about two dozen more! Every now and then I would go check up on the buds, and just yesterday there was an amazing ornamental extravaganza! Just wait and see, even these lavish words of mine won’t do justice to Allah’s greatness!

http://picasaweb.google.com/114915106272152946036/NightbloomingCereus#

SubhanAllah!!!

4 Responses to “Nightblooming Cereus”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    Amazing! Beautiful! Artistic! Not only did you receive a beautiful flower to work with but you’ve obviously been graced with talent. Your pictures are really great. You should use the gallery feature in wordpress to put them right up on your sight.

    • ghaziaitizaz Says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I will check it out, I hope it has an easy uploading technique, because Picasa does. You just have to make a photo album on your pc and click UPLOAD! Instead of having to select files one by one!

  2. ayesha salam Says:

    hello gazu, these are stunning shots, the plant was a gift from a Burmese friend, actually a tall creeper. I do not know how long she had it, but with me, amazingly, over ten years, moved it to Beama when I moved, and this is its third flowering. The profusion is stunning. I have to say, plant food and space to grow did. Love your efforts to log its development. warmest, stay with it

Leave a Reply

