Made In The Same Mold

June 5, 2010

We read, we hear, we think, but it’s not until we experience that we actually understand things. I learnt something about myself today. I called up a friend to talk to him about an internship and final year project. I kept talking and talking, telling him all the things I had thought about. And like an ongoing train ideas kept going from my brain to my voice. When I put down the phone I asked my brother, don’t you think I talk much. I was doing most of the talking because I had been thinking a lot about the project, and had just found out that a teacher was giving an internship which would become a part of that project. I was worried about getting an internship for the past few days and had weighed all my option, which were a few to start with. The thing I learnt was that, like my father I start to process ideas in my head and feel the need to voice them. Although my mind is not as sharp and fast as my fathers, but its still in the development stage.

No matter what happens, at the end of the day we are a part of our parents, whether we like it or not! It’s part of Allah’s beautiful plan, and I accept it! I was amazed to see that I have so many things which aren’t me, they are my mother and father. This is the cause of two things, the inheritance of the human genome and our imitative nature.

I am not a biology student, so I don’t know much about the genome, all I know is that it is a mixture of the genes of both our parents. As far as the imitative nature is concerned, I have been listening to audio lectures of Hamza Yusuf, a renowned Islamic scholar, and he mentioned that human beings are imitative by nature. I would like to tell you a little about why I like listening to his lectures. I got my primary education at the American International School in Riyadh. Since my primary education has been in English, by American teachers, my mind has developed a way of understanding better in English. Even if I’m listening to something in Urdu, my mind translates most of it and then processes it. This happened quite a lot when I shifted to Pakistan but since its been ten years now, things have changed a bit, and I don’t find it difficult to process in Urdu now. Anyhow, Hamza Yusuf is an American who converted to Islam after facing a near death accident. He explains things about Islam in simple and fluent English which makes me comfortable, and I tend to enjoy it more. Other than that, he is a very learned man, and has devoted a lot of his life for the cause of Islam. If you’d like, you can look him up on YouTube, where there are several audio and video lectures of his.

Getting back to my point, about imitative nature. He said that since the day we are born, we start absorbing what we see around us, and because most of our initial interaction is with our parents, we start to imitate a lot of things that they do, like hand gestures, the way we laugh, and so on. That is why it is so important to keep children in careful watch when they are young, protect them from wrong sights and sounds, and most importantly company. We are like sponges at that age, and absorb almost everything we hear and see. The sad and shocking thing I’ve noticed about children these days is the fact that they have learnt inappropriate words at such a young age, I can’t even imagine hearing such a word when I was that young, let alone using it! The exposure to wrong at a young age has become so common, that it is becoming deadly for the future generation, and not to forget the ease of accessibility! Cartoons have become more violent and vulgar, and from what I’ve noticed is that most parents don’t even bother which channel their children are watching on TV, in fact the children can’t help it when their mothers are sitting and watching Indian soap operas. I’ve heard them using Hindi words as if they are part of Urdu. Luckily, the wrestling craze has died down a bit, but that too had kids going wild!

There is a reason why they say it’s so important to teach children to pray and do their duties at a young age, and to teach them about manners. The thing they learn then, is something that will stick to them till their last breath! So it’s essential to focus on teaching the basic things they will require to face the harsh world, first. And at the same time, keep them from as many wrong things as you can!

My mother use to say something when I was little, and now I realise what she meant. When we wouldn’t wake up for Fajr Prayers, she use to say, ” you should wake up and pray when I tell you to. I am allowed to beat you if you don’t, but I wont because you should do what I’m telling you to. When you grow up you will wish I beat you to pray if you don’t get into the habit now.” And today, I can actually wish the exact same thing, because I haven’t been able to make that habit, and I feel it would have been better of getting a beating then and having that habit now! If only I understood what my mother was saying then!

Its been a great relief writing this post. I was feeling as if my emotions where in my mind like undigested food. I was starting to feel uneasy about it!

Thank you Allah for giving me a mode of expressing myself and attaining inner peace in the process!

2 Responses to “Made In The Same Mold”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    What a wonderful post. I also just posted about my father and the gifts that I have received from him. It is part of the plan. It appears that writing is also very much a part of your plan Ghazi – you’re able to create peace for yourself in putting the words down. I am going to youtube now to see Hamza Yusuf.

Leave a Reply

