Struggle, Survival, Victory & Defeat

March 15, 2010

Ad-Dhuha
In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful

By the morning hours (1) And by the night when it is stillest, (2) Thy Lord hath not forsaken thee nor doth He hate thee, (3) And verily the latter portion will be better for thee than the former, (4) And verily thy Lord will give unto thee so that thou wilt be content. (5) Did He not find thee an orphan and protect (thee)? (6) Did He not find thee wandering and direct (thee)? (7) Did He not find thee destitute and enrich (thee)? (8) Therefor the orphan oppress not, (9) Therefor the beggar drive not away, (10) Therefor of the bounty of thy Lord be thy discourse. (11)

Just this morning I went through the translation and brief explanation of this Surah. Little did I know that it was just the thing I needed for a day like today. In the explanation of the first and second Ayat, it had been elaborated, that morning represents the good part of life whereas the night represents its reciprocal! Night is longer than day, clearly stating that life has a greater amount of sorrow, anxiety, and depression. However, every night is followed by the day! The sun rays rip through the darkness and once again misfortune is defeated!

I arrived in university today, and was really anxious to find out the results of the semifinals of IFDC. After a few classes, I went to check the notice board. Saddened to see that my team hadn’t qualified, I walked back to class thinking of all the reasons I had failed! Why did I raise my hopes too high to let them fall and shatter to pieces! Well I’m being a little too dramatic here, nonetheless I was not expecting this for some reason. But just then I was shook by the thought of what I had learned in the Quran this the morning!

It was a miracle, Allah had prepared me for this moment! I recalled the translation in my head and recited the surah to myself. I realised that Allah doesn’t test us without preparing us for the test before hand! I told myself, that this is just the beginning, maybe a defeat at this point will be compensated by a victory at another! At the end of the day, me having overcome my fears, learning a new skill, and enjoying the experience, is all that matters. That’s a victory on its own!

Allah is the best Planner! Most of the time we fail to understand His plans, at times we feel that we are being punished or that Allah doesn’t listen to us! We are so wrong! What seems as a setback to us, might just be His way of protecting us from a greater setback which we might not be able to handle. Or even if it is a punishment, it’s better to get our accounts cleared here in this life than that which is to come! Again this is His way of protecting us from greater punishments!

From everything I learn about Him, it all end up to this: ALLAH LOVES US!

There’s no doubt about that and I stand by my motto: ALLAH NEVER LETS US DOWN!

Leave a Reply

