Our Existence

March 1, 2010

I recently watched a documentary about the Big Bang and the Expansion of the Universe. It was mind-boggling! And I had already heard from different people, that the Quran contains these facts. The documentary was quite interesting, and in one part of it, they said that the universe was expanding with increasing speed. It suddenly struck me that this means a few million years ago the universe was slower in its rate of expansion. Could this be one of the reasons why humans at that time lived to be hundreds of years old, or where much larger in size than us? What is time? It seems like a relative quantity to me!

But forget all that, the most brilliant thing is that it’s all in the Quran! What have I been doing all this while? The answers to everything, from how the universe expands to how it was made is all in it! Why on earth do we need to go around studying other stuff? Our faith should be strong enough to accept anything and everything written in the Quran! Things that are being discovered today have already been mentioned more than fourteen hundred years ago! I’m sure things that are still to be discovered are in there as well! The question is, will we stop, turn around from the world and look towards it? Find the answers to the questions they ask in our Book! I couldn’t wait to go and search the verses in the Quran which said all that I had just listened to in the documentary! I was dumbfounded, it was exactly as they said, but what was I thinking! These are the words of Allah! Me in my insignificance brought me to get shocked about this, however, its nothing to get shocked about! Who is our Creator? Allah is! Who knows his creations better than the Creator Himself! Here are some of the verses I found with the help of other websites, I verify them from this online Quran whose link I will also paste here. 

1.”When the heaven is cleft asunder, When the planets are dispersed”

(82:1-2)

2.”We have built the heaven with might, and We it is Who make the vast extent (thereof). And the earth have We laid out, how gracious is the Spreader (thereof)!

(51:47)

3.”The Day when We shall roll up the heavens as a recorder rolleth up a written scroll. As We began the first creation, We shall repeat it. (It is) a promise (binding) upon Us. Lo! We are to perform it.

(21:104)

4.”On the day when the earth will be changed to other than the earth, and the heavens (also will be changed) and they will come forth unto Allah, the One, the Almighty

(14:48)

5.”Moreover, He Comprehended in His design the sky, and it had been (as) smoke

(41:11)

6.”Do not the Unbelievers see that the heavens and the earth were joined together (as one unit of Creation)

(21:30)

Links to the online Quran:

1.http://quranexplorer.com/quran/

2.http://tanzil.info/

3.http://www.quranflash.com/en/quranflash.html

Another thing which I’m reminded of every time I see anything related to space is what Mr Hasan Kayani, our Operating Systems teacher told us a few semesters ago. He told us about this start, the VY Canis Majoris, the largest star known to man! And he told us to think of how big Allah is if He has created that! I went home that day and searched it on the internet. I came across this video in which the earth, and our sun was compared to it! I was speechless! All that went through my head was, what do we think we are, so arrogant, so bold! Our insignificance seems so insignificant after seeing how big that star is!

Click on the image to see the full size.

I don’t think I need to put any other picture to convince you guys how small we are!

No matter how insignificant we are, the atoms that make up the largest of planets, that is the combination of protons, neutrons and electrons, those are the same things that the ingredients of the fingers I’m using to type this!

The significance of our existence is in everything we see around us!

4 Responses to “Our Existence”

  1. Uzair Says:

    Great Piece Ghazi =)

  2. Nadhira Aqilah Says:

    Often I feel scared when looking at pictures if galaxies like the one you are providing. It made me think of Allah and yes, like you said, how insignificantly small are us to Him. It opened my eyes, made me wonder stuff like, surely there are more of His creation that are bigger than the biggest star? Whilst I know it must be a privileged to witness His creation before your eyes(like the astronauts do) and yet, I feel scared. Is that normal?

    • ghaziaitizaz Says:

      Well I’m no expert but I think its okay to be scared. Deep space and oceans are two things that frighten me as well. But knowing that it is Allah Who is in control of it all, there is nothing to worry about. All we have to do is work on our faith. Make it strong enough that even if there is something big and overwhelming we have faith that Allah will protect us from it! Never forget, even if we are sinners, Allah loves us dearly, and always waits for us to turn to Him!

Leave a Reply

