AIM

February 18, 2010

Last night, lying in bed, I thought I would do some meditation. I closed my eyes and let my eyelids relax, trying to absorb the silence. I cleared my head and tried to focus my mind on a single point in space!  Then a thought came into my mind that instead of staying completely quite (referring to mental quietness), I should focus on the reason of my creation. Starting off with the words “Who is my creator? ALLAH is my creator”, I gently repeated it again and again, and tried to change the words into feelings.  If you look at it in the perspective of a single point in space, i guess I’d be referring to the origin O (0,0,0)! I gradually started to feel calm and in a positive state of mind.

As my meditation proceeded another thought came along. The three questions that we will be asked when we die. Who is your Lord? What is your religion? Who is your Prophet? And the answer to them are, Allah, Islam, and Muhammad(SAW) respectively. Then I started to repeat these three answers, “Allah, Islam, Muhammad(SAW)”! It suddenly struck me that these three word make the acronym, AIM! So to make everything easy, I thought of putting it like this: our aim in life is finding Allah In Muhammad’s (SAW) way! Short and simple, easy to remember!

“Ye have indeed in the Messenger of Allah a beautiful pattern (of conduct) for anyone whose hope is in Allah and the Final Day, and who engages much in the praise of Allah.” (Al-Ahzab 33:21)

Isn’t this why we were created? To actually prosper in life it is essential to know your target, your destination, your goals! Therefore, if we set this as our focal point in our daily lives, every thing we do will converge to that point! Hence, illuminating our life!

Today I’ve actually opened my eyes to another perspective! The things I studied in mathematics and physics are all starting to make sense now! My uncle commented on my status on Facebook “Why is studying so depressing” that studies don’t invoke spiritual growth, which I thought made sense. But now I know that it’s not true! Viewing our academic knowledge with a spiritual approach can really change everything!

WOW! I never thought that meditation was so powerful!

6 Responses to “AIM”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    I really like your post. I think it’s great when meditation gracefully places an enlightenment like that on one’s shoulder. You wrote it very well.


  2. ghazi yaar great post.. im highly impressed and i’ve learned many points here.. u talked about meditation, it is just like dhikr, if we do dhikr with concentration we can achieve this goal.. and the purpose of dhikr is the same that we always remember Allah in our daily life routines so that we can live our life according to the commandments of Almighty Allah and have prosperous life here and hereafter.
    JazakAllah

    keep it up bro….
    Wassalam

  3. kdee Says:

    Amazing 🙂
    You’ve highlighted AIM so well and in such a simple way that one actually feels like seeking it…Hope Allah gives us all the strength & courage to achieve our aims in life

Leave a Reply

