Man in the Mirror

January 31, 2010

Alhamdulillah(thank God) for a wonderful day, a wonderful week! Learnt a few new things and was reminded of some that I had forgotten. I’ve been away from my writting for some time now, which makes me realise how much I miss thinking about things which should be given thought!  But today sitting in the hall of the convention centre it struck me that there is a barrier infront of me! I wanted to get up and tell the world that somethings are more important than others, and without them there is no success! However, I was unable to do so! I was thinking why…why dont I have the courage of saying what I want to! And I realised that the thing I was wanting to tell the people around me was something I was not following so strictly myself! The lyrics of Micheal Jackson’s song The Man in the Mirror popped into my head:

“I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place”

And moments later the man on stage giving the speech said the exact same thing, that if you want to bring a change you’ve got to start with yourself! I was speechless!

That’s the hardest part of life. To change yourself! Its so so so easy to give advice to others! But when it comes to ones own self, the same things seem so unreasonable and you think it lacks the solution to your problem…it didn’t when the same thing was happening to a friend!

But as I said before”Today is the first day of the rest of my life!” 🙂

So I’m ready to face the challenge! I will change! And the next time I want to get up in a crowd of 3000 people and say something I will have the courage and capacity to do so! InshAllah!

Till then I’m going to go listen to a song…a song which is giving me a subtle feeling of happiness!

Take care everyone!

5 Responses to “Man in the Mirror”

  1. Zohaib Says:

    Ghazi! I couldn’t agree more with what you just said. A lot of people in or society today like going with the flow-they think if everyone else is doing wrong, one person doing something right will not make much of a difference. And it is this attitude by everyone that makes it a self-fulfilling prophecy…

    • ghaziaitizaz Says:

      yeah! But i believe we…the people who have the slightest feeling that change is possible can and will bring about a change! My friend, if its anyone i think can be someone great…its you! And its all because ur effort in ur work and the help you do for others that is pure! And that is what will take you to the skys or even higher inshAllah!
      Thanks for the support bro! I appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

